The Long Road to Recovery

On the Run

So, I chose my old faithful boots for my first run, still got a blister from it but I enjoyed it. Couldn’t wipe the smile off my face the whole day, it was only a twenty minute run but to back on the grass was class. Since then it’s been progressing from the straight line runs to beginning to change direction, in and out of cones and beginning to turn. The first week was very limited but I got to start the turning after a week or so.

Then there was the football work, I felt sorry for anyone I did it with for the first week of passing over a longer distance because to say it was off was an understatement, I had zero timing, but now looking back I’ve got my timing back to as I did before, I even practiced a few goal kicks which was good. In recent weeks we started a dribble circuit, that’s very tiring but is much better than just running. It’s a square containing a variation of cones, poles and hurdles, repetitions of the lot for 4 minutes, 4 times. It’s difficult but it’s good to have a ball at your feet whilst working for a change.

Furthermore, for me I could start diving around, controlled falling I believe it was called at first, but yeah it was enjoyable and I had no pain whilst doing it so that’s been upped further so I can do some work with my goalkeeper coach. It’s still only small progressions at this stage but it is all coming together slowly. One thing I discovered in this cold weather is that my knee feels a little bit stiffer before I get going, but if that’s the only issue I won’t be complaining.

Off the field it’s been a good few weeks, I signed a contract extension to keep me at the club, giving me to security that I don’t need to rush back and the support of all of the staff. Any positive things that come during your injury give you an extra sense of motivation that you’re going in the right direction. I’ve been really enjoying being back on the grass, it’s made me feel more included within the team rather being stuck in the gym. This period is the hardest physically but you’ve got through the mentally toughest part that is the period in the gym. One thing I did discover though is that you need to reign yourself in so that you don’t push your body too far too soon, especially in your first few sessions because you’re excited, just take it steady, I was like a kid on Christmas Morning and had to be reined in. On that note of Christmas, I wish everyone a safe and merry Christmas and a happy New Year.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started