The Long Road to Recovery

Bouncing and bobbling about

Been a few weeks now and I’m bouncing around and I’m moving forward with massive steps into my recovery. The goal was to achieve a single rep max of 130kg on both legs by the 11th week. I’d been building up my leg press for weeks and on the Monday of the week I did 10x100kg and that was easy, so by Friday, exactly 11 weeks post op, we did the test. Started at 100kg and built up in 5kg increments. 100, 105,110,115…130. It was the time, the goal was right in front of my eyes, I did it. It was easy so I did 135, found that easy too so I was asked if I wanted to do 140 but I thought you know what I had a session to do after so I’ll just leave it at that.

The process is just like a video game, once you complete a goal, another one unlocks. So now it was onto the Alter G (Anti-Gravity Treadmill). But before we go into that, the process isn’t all easy and some days you do think that you can’t do it, but you have to dig in and work through it because every day you are getting better. Just keep a smile on your face and be positive, there is always someone there to talk to and give you support if you need it. I’ve had great support the whole way through and you appreciate that because it gives you belief that you can do it and you can be stronger. Honestly, some days I feel like its torture, the endless CV and core sessions, the endless amounts of sweaty kits and double session. Makes you think how did I deserve this? But it’s been worth it, every single bit of pain for holding those planks in a core session or the last kilometre of a cardio session, each is a bit more in the tank.

So, as we were, the Alter G. Some bit of kit that is, allows you to run with only a percentage of your bodyweight. Bit weird having to put these shorts which have a zip around the waist to zip yourself into the bubble but it’s not a fashion contest, otherwise id be in trouble. Especially when I’ve finished and I’m dripping in sweat with my hair a mess. First session was at 40-50% body weight and second at 60-70%. Found them both easy and didn’t have any reaction. Only reaction I had was feeling like I had a house placed on my shoulders I felt that heavy, leg weights after doing that was just a treat… Onto the final session, the 80-90% run, the target. The last thing I needed to complete before getting back onto the pitch, I found it pretty easy and now I’m excited and ready to get on the pitch. So we started at 60 and went all the way up to 90 in 2:30 intervals, then once that was done, the last 2:30 at 100%, never have I felt so heavy in my life, but it was fun and its complete now. Now I’ve just got a huge decision to make, which boots do I wear for my first run?

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started